Guides & TutorialsCron & Automation ConfiguringAutomatically Deleting Client Data

Automatically Deleting Client Data

It may be necessary to remove client data from your systems once they have terminated all services and a period of time has lapsed. WHMCS can automate this deletion process for you:

1. Navigate to Configuration > System Settings > Automation Settings (prior to WHMCS 7.10, Setup > Automation Settings).

2. In the Data Retention Settings section, select After no invoice or transaction activity has occurred for the following number of months.

3. In WHMCS 8.1 or later, set the toggle to YES if you also want to delete users who are only associated with the deleted clients.

4. Specify the number of months of no activity after which the system should delete the client.

5. Click Save Changes.

Data Retention Settings

When the daily automation tasks are performed, any clients who have been inactive for the specified number of months will be irrevocably erased from your WHMCS installation.

More information is available in our documentation.