Perform an update using the Automatic Updater
WHMCS automatically checks for new updates at least once per day.
When an update becomes available, a notification will appear as in the screenshot below. Click on this to visit the updater.
Alternatively, if you want to check for an update on demand, navigate to Utilities > Update WHMCS.
You will be prompted to enter your administrator password to confirm you are authorized to perform updates.
To check for updates, click the Check Now (1) button indicated below.
Checking if a new update is available will take a few seconds to complete, and if one is available, you will see a notification like the one below.
To begin the update process, click the Update Now (2) button as indicated above.
Step 1 - Make a backup
Confirm the version you are updating to and make a backup of your installation before continuing.
Step 2 - Customised files notice
If you have customised any core files, WHMCS will notify you that they are about to be overwritten by the update.
This is your last chance to take a copy of them.
Note: You should not make customisations to the default template files, always instead first making a copy to apply your customisations to. If you do that, you will not see this notice. For more information, please refer to http://developers.whmcs.com/themes/getting-started/
Step 3 - Begin update
Confirm you are ready to perform the update and click Begin Update.
Step 4 - Update
The update process typically takes between 20 and 60 seconds.
Wait while the update process completes.
Step 5 - Update Completed
Once the update is completed, you will see the following success confirmation.
We strongly encourage you to visit and read the release notes for the new version using the button provided.
Click Finish to complete the process.
If the Update process fails to complete successfully, please refer to Automatic Update Failed: Identifying the problem
No new update available
If the check returns that no new updates are available and you know there should be, you need to check your Update Settings.
Click the Configure Update Settings button.
Ensure the correct channel is selected - for production use we recommend the Stable channel.
Click Save Changes.
A check for updates using the new setting will be performed automatically.